M5U5A1: Diversity in lesson plan

Of all the subjects in high school I would have to say (in my most biased way) that English is the easiest class to explore cultural diversity. Literature comes from all over the world and throughout time. Regardless of the standard being studied, material that represents a certain culture, sex, age, and experience can be included. Cultural diversity is about exposing students to a culture and perspective other than their own. To analyze the literature not only improves the student’s skills in English but improves their world view and the way they analyze life.

Starting after the fall break, my students will be analyzing text for rhetorical styles. What better way to teach rhetoric than to have them compare and contrast rhetorical styles from other cultures. What works as far as ethos, pathos, and logos in the U.S. may not necessarily be the best or same route to take in another culture or country. By seeing different advertisements and political speeches they can compare to what they are familiar with and then understand from a different perspective. That new perspective can take them out into the world and be able to meet and apply it to new people. That new perspective develops their 21st century skills like communication and critical thinking.

I will give my students a project that gives them a new identity and with the knowledge that they research about a certain region or time, they will create presentations about an argument using pathos, ethos, or logos, and justify that argument. This presentation will be one of the ways that I can evaluate if my students understand the impact of the author’s point of view on cultural diversity. Also, when analyzing text and poetry, I will know if students use the origin of the author to help them understand the passage.

The district that I teach in isn’t very diverse but I grew up in a very culturally diverse area. I understand the importance of exposing my students to different cultures and to help my students think outside of the box of their own private worlds.

Leave a comment